Matt Carey

I have been a member of Asylum since not long after it was established. Originally born in Baltimore Maryland but have lived in Arizona for 20 years. I played 2 years as an ACL Pro. I am an Estimator and Project Manager for MTS Painting in Arizona. I am 1 half of Coleslaw Carey Cornhole. We run weekly ACL cornhole events and fundraisers.

Eddie Cuevas "Cucuy"

Co-Founder of Asylum. Grew up in the Bay Area, but have lived in AZ the past 20 years. Fun facts: Cocktail of choice is Kettle One and Soda with a lime and favorite food is my wife's home made shredded beef tacos. Works as an IT Engineer. Been throwing bags for 4 years. Interests outside of cornhole include golf, hiking and hanging with friends and family.

Robert Ortega "Boobs"

Aka ‘Boobs McDooblin’ is a Desert rat from the hot sands of Arizona. That is where he found his love for cornhole and all the people who make this a great sport. Starting out playing Friday nights for fun has turned into a full blown addiction. He’s an owner of too many bags, drinker of too many beers, and haver of too many laughs. After 24 years in AZ he moved to MA in 2020 to spend his winters shoveling snow and staying indoors with his wife and 3 dogs. A certifiably insane move that he’s glad he made because that allowed Asylum to be born in both Arizona and New England

Shane Bieber ‘Beebs’

Throws: Righty. Posture (set/step): Step. Bags of Choice: Ultra Vipers, Surefires, Reynold Advantages. Years of Cornhole Experience: 10+ Years and counting!!! Achievements: 1st Place @ September 2020 ACL Advanced doubles Regionals, 1st place @ September 2020 ACO doubles Regionals, ~100 + podiums (1st 2nd, or 3rd place) between 2018 and 2022. Cornhole Goal: Helping others to succeed in the game!!!


Anthony Barchak

I recently joined team Asylum. I’m excited to meet everyone and have some fun and get better. I’m originally from Kansas City Missouri. Yes I’m a big Chiefs fan. I moved to Arizona 6 1/2 years ago. My wife Jessica Barchak (who just joined team Asylum as well) and I enjoy camping and hanging with friends and family. Of course fitting Cornhole in when possible. Really look forward to being a part of this team.

Jessica Barchak

I’m a new Asylum member as of April 2022. I live in Gilbert with my husband (also a new member of Asylum), my two sons (who love to play cornhole with us!) and our two small pups. I am a manager at an SRP power plant so I spend most of my time working and helping keep the lights on! When I’m not working, I’m attending my kids’ sporting and JROTC events. With what time I have left, I love to have fun! Cornhole, camping, RZR riding, bike cruises, hosting parties in our backyard and hanging with friends. I joined Team Asylum to make new friendships and have a great time!

Chris Bernal

Still hasn't written his bio

Julie Bernal

I have been a member for one year. I am from Aurora, Colorado. I moved to Chandler, Arizona 12 years ago. Getaways - 1. Anywhere that has a beach 2. Camping in remote places where I can unplug from the world. Work - Coaching and Sales Development. When I'm not playing cornhole - I am a bookworm - I love to read. Stepping out of "backyard" cornhole and joining a team has been an incredible experience. I look forward to continuing to improve my game and strengthening relationships with our teammates!

Jodie Voishnis

Asylum member for almost a year now. When I am not throwing bags I am working as a Physician Assistant in Somersworth, NH or playing with my 3 dogs. I was born in Newburyport, Mass and have lived most of my life in New England. I also recently completed my MBA in healthcare management. I love my family. I love having people over playing yard games. I also am a big Pats and Red Sox fan!

Chris DeRosa "Salty"

Chris is a New Yorker by birth and has been living in Arizona for 15 years. One of the first inmates locked away at the Arizona Asylum. He has been throwing bags for a little over two years. When he isn’t on the circuit you can find him hitting a golf ball or running around on the tennis court. If you see him around say Hi, he’s quiet at first but friendly and loyal.

Matt Kier

Still hasn't written his bio

Patricia Kier

I started throwing with family and friends about a year ago. Recently, I’ve started playing in weekly tournaments and I can’t wait to play in the Arizona State Tournament in June.

I’m originally from Texas and after 6 years here, Arizona finally feels like home.

When I’m not throwing bags, you can find me golfing, kayaking or off-roading! ⛳️🛶🌽

Nicole Kangas "Kanga Ru"

Originally from Michigan. I moved to Arizona in 2015 and never looked back. No more snow!!! I married my best friend Jeff in September 2021 and we have a beautifully blended family with 3 adult children. Dylan 21, Aubree 21 and Mitchell 17. I have an obsession for cornhole and love that it’s a sport that we can do together! We both started playing around June of 2020 and have grown so much with the sport! I became a part of the Asylum family just a few months after throwing my first bag ❤️

Jeff Kangas

No Bio

Devan Brewer "Brewer"

Asylum member for 7 months. I live in Mesa, Arizona. I love to go fishing, do anything outdoors, and I love to sleep under the stars. I deliver bread to Winco stores around around the valley and work in the warehouse too.

Brian Herndon

I just joined the team. Born and raised In Phoenix Arizona. I am a cancer survivor! AML Leukemia. I love spending time with my wife Jill and 13 yr old son Mason. We love spending time at our cabin and traveling when we can. I love all AZ sports teams! Die hard fan!!I work for Discount Tire in Inventory Management. I’ve been with the Company for 20+ years.

Jay Russnak "The Dean"

Recent new member! From Chicago live in Mesa. Hiked Grand Canyon Rim-to-Rim on New Year's Day trying to get into Mountain Biking & Kayaking. Special Education Instructional Coach finishing up 2nd Masters in Administration. Excited to be a part of team Asylum!